ANNOYING MOSQUITOES AND NAGGING THOUGHTS

Its 2:17 AM in this part of the world. And I am here. After multiple failed attempts to sleep, I open my laptop to type away. No, I am not trying to find sleep nor am I trying to find inspiration at this ungodly hour. Rather, I am here to ask if anyone who is reading this faced this? Of course, you may have.

So what do you do? Drink a glass of warm milk to induce sleep? Pick up paint brush and create a masterpiece? Or the age old technique, pick up a boring book and read yourself to sleep?

It’s not that I wasn’t sleepy. Actually I was. Just then a mosquito, a single most irritating mosquito came humming to my ear. I tried ignoring it and covered my ears with my blanket. But no, it won’t leave me alone. It moved it’s attention to the other ear. You see I don’t like covering my face. So earlier I had just covered my ear that was audience to the mosquito’s musical notes.

This made me wonder. How come mosquitoes come humming only when the lights are off. I decided that I can’t ignore it anymore and got up the bed and switched on the light. I adjusted my eyes to the sudden brightness and started my search for the annoying mosquito.

Found it. It was sitting cozily on my bed waiting for me to come back to bed. And my bedsheet was the perfect camouflage for it. I aimed for it and slapped it, all ready for the bloodshed on my bedsheet. And missed. Apparently, the mosquito was just warming up and I was tired and sleepy.

Whoever has had an experience with mosquito would know that now I cannot find it easily. Coz now it’s hiding spot would be, well, nicely hidden away from human eyes. So I would now need to lure it back. So I switched off the light partially hoping that it doesn’t come and my sleep comes back.

No points for guessing which one came back? Yes, it’s the mosquito. With the same old tune. I was too lazy this time to get off again from bed. I tried to slap the mosquito which ended up me slapping me with no desirable result.

Finally, I got up and switched on the light. No sign of mosquito and here I am writing this post. I am sure I will get the mosquito some time. Either I will find it or it will find me.

Moral of the Story: An annoying mosquito and a nagging thought can keep you from your sleep.

Leave a comment